The Eric Gregory Awards

The Eric Gregory Awards, for a collection by poets under the age of 30, were founded in 1960 by the late Dr Eric Gregory for the encouragement of young poets.

Eric-Gregory-Banner-2021.jpg2021 Winners

  • Cynthia Miller for Honorifics
  • Dominic Hand for Symbiont
  • Gboyega Odubanjo for Aunty Uncle Poems
  • Kandace Siobahn Walker for Cowboy
  • Michael Askew for The Association Game
  • Milena Williamson for The Red Trapeze
  • Phoebe Walker for Animal Noises

The 2022 Awards will open for submissions in August 2021.

  • The author must be under the age of 30 on the 31 October 2021.
  • The author must either be a British national or be resident in Great Britain and Northern Ireland for three years immediately prior to the date of submission for the award, and writing in English.
  • The work submitted may be a published or unpublished volume of poetry, drama-poems or belles-lettres.
  • No more than 30 poems should be submitted and collections should be no more than 50 pages. 
  • The work must not have been previously submitted for The Eric Gregory Awards. 
  • Entrants may only enter ONE collection of 30 poems each year.

For any queries relating to the prize please contact

Charity number 261451