The Queen's Knickers Award

This annual prize, generously funded by Nicholas Allan, author of The Queen's Knickers, is awarded to an outstanding children's original illustrated book for ages 0-7.

It will recognise books that strike a quirky, new note and grab the attention of a child, whether this be in the form of curiosity, amusement, horror or excitement.

The winner will receive £5,000, as well as a golden Queen's Knickers badge, as depicted in Nicholas Allan's original book.

The runner-up will receive £1,000 and a silvered badge. 


2021 Queen's Knickers Award WinnersRashmi Sirdeshpande and Diane Ewen for Never Show a T-Rex a Book (Puffin)


2021 Shortlist

  • Runner-up: Alex T. Smith for Mr Penguin and the Catastrophic Cruise
  • Joy Cowley and Giselle Clarkson for The Gobbledegook Book (Gecko Press)
  • John Condon and Matt Hunt for The Pirates are Coming! (Nosy Crow)
  • Katie Daynes and Marie-Eve Tremblay for Lift-the-Flap Questions and Answers About Plastic (Usborne)

Entry to the 2021 Prize is now closed

Important Information:

  • Submissions should be a single, illustrated volume, in book form. It can be imaginative or factual e.g. a counting book
  • Submissions may be any combination or words and/or pictures, or just pictures (and in any physical format including, pop ups, flap books, and board books)
  • Submissions must have been first published in the UK and Republic of Ireland between 1 September 2019 and 31 August 2020
  • The prize will be shared between the author or authors and illustrator/illustrators if applicable
  • Submissions must be made by the print publisher

For any queries relating to the prize please contact