Scott Moncrieff Prize (French)

The Scott Moncrieff Prize is an annual award of £1,000 for translations into English of full length French works of literary merit and general interest.

Established in 1965, and named after the celebrated translator of Proust’s Á la Recherche du Temps Perdu, the prize is generously sponsored by the Institut français du Royaume-Uni.  

The 2021 Scott Moncrieff Prize Shortlist

  • Helen Stevenson for a translation of The Death of Comrade President by Alain Mabanckou. (Profile Books: Serpent's Tail)
  • Sam Taylor for a translation of The Invisible Land by Hubert Mingarelli. (Granta)
  • Emily Boyce for a translaton of A Long Way Off by Pascal Garnier. (Gallic Books)
  • Roland Glasser for a translation of Real Life by Adeline Dieudonné. (World Editions)
  • Laura Marris for a translation of Those Who Forgot By Géraldine Schwarz. (Pushkin Press)
  • Aneesa Abbas Higgins for a translation of Winter in Sokcho  by Elisa Shua Dusapin

Thanks to judges: Gini Alhadeff and Ian Patterson.

The winner will be announced and celebrated by the SoA on the 10th of February.

If you are interested in any of the books here please visit: Blackwells and Bookshop


The 2022 Scott Moncrieff Prize is now open for submissions.

Enter Now



  • The deadline for submissions is 28 February 2022.
  • Entries must be translations from French into English.
  • The original must have been published within the last 150 years.
  • Entries must have been published in 2021.
  • Full Terms and Conditions are listed at the start of the entry form.
  • Presented at a ceremony in 2023.