Previous winners of the McKitterick Prize

2021 Elaine Feeney for As You Were (Harvill Secker, Vintage) £4,000
Runner-up: Deepa Anappara for Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line (Chatto & Windus, Vintage) £1,250
2020 Claire Adam for Golden Child (Faber and Faber) £4,000
Runner-up: Taffy Brodesser-Akner for Fleishman is in Trouble  (Wildfire, Headline) £1,250

2019 Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott for Swan Song (Hutchinson) £4,000
Runner-up: Carys Davies for West (Granta Books) £1,250
2018 Anietie Isong for Radio Sunrise (Jacaranda) £4,000
Runner-up: Frances Maynard for The Seven Rules of Elvira Carr (Mantle) £1,250
2017 David Dyer for The Midnight Watch (Atlantic Books) £4,000
Runner-up: Austin Duffy for This Living & immortal Thing (Granta) £1,000
2016  Petina Gappah for The Book of Memory (Faber) £4,000
Runner-up: Nick Coleman for Pillow Man (Cape) £1,000
2015 Robert Allison for The Letter Bearer (Granta) £4,000
Runner-up: Paul Ewen for Francis Pug: How To Be A Public Author (Galley Beggar Press) £1,000
2014 Gabriel Weston for Dirty Work (Cape) £4,000                                             
Runner-up: Gabriel Gbadamosi for Vauxhall (Telegram Books) £1,000
2013 Alison Moore for The Lighthouse (Salt) £4,000                                           
Runner-up: Caroline Brothers for Hinterland (Bloomsbury)
2012 Ginny Baily for Africa Junction (Harvill Secker / Vintage) £4,000
Runner-up: Cressida Connolly for My Former Heart (Fourth Estate)
2011 Emma Henderson for Grace Williams Says It Loud (Sceptre) £4,000
Runner-up: Frances Kay for Micka (Picador)
2010 Raphael Selbourne for Beauty (Tindal Street Press) £4,000
2009 Chris Hannan for Missy (Chatto) £4,000
2008 Jennie Walker for 24 for 3 (Bloomsbury) £4,000
2007 Reina James for This Time of Dying (Portobello) £4,000
2006 Peter Pouncey for Rules for Old Men Waiting (Chatto & Windus) £4,000
2005 Lloyd Jones for Mr Vogel (Seren) £4,000
2004 Mark Haddon for The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time (Jonathan Cape) £4,000
2003 Mary Lawson Crow for Lake (Chatto & Windus) £4,000
2002 Manil Suri for The Death of Vishnu (Bloomsbury Publishing) £4,000
2001 Giles Waterfield for The Long Afternoon (Headline Review) £4,000
2000 Chris Dolan for Ascension Day (Headline Review) £4,000
1999 Magnus Mills for The Restraint of Beasts (Flamingo) £4,000
1998 Eli Gottlieb for The Boy Who Went Away (Jonathan Cape) £4,000
1997 Patricia Duncker for Hallucinating Foucault (Serpent’s Tail) £4,000
1996 Stephen Blanchard for Gagarin and I (Vintage) £5,000
1995 Christopher for Bigsby Hester (Weidenfeld) £5,000
1994 Helen Dunmore for Zennor in Darkness (Viking) £5,000
1993 Andrew Barrow for The Tap Dancer (Duckworth) £5,000
1992 Alberto Manguel for News from a Foreign Country Came (Harper Collins) £5,000
1991 John Loveday for Halo (Harcourt Brace) £5,000
1990 Simon Mawer for Chimera (Hamish Hamilton) £5,000