Past winners of the Tom-Gallon Trust Award

2021 Winner: DM O'Connor for I Told You not to Fly so High
Runner-up: Sean Lusk for The Hopelessness of Hope
Maeve O'Lynn for Eventually Meeeting the Sky Somewhere
Anne Aylor for The House of Wild Beasts
Alison Littlewood for Swanskin
Dafydd Mills Daniel for What the Deal is

2020 Winner: Wendy Riley for Eva at the End of the World
Runner-up: Diana Powell for Whale Watching 
Ani Kayode Somotchukwu for The Bird that Fluttered Free
Lynda Clark for Ghillie's Mum
Carol Farrelly for High Water
Catriona Ward for The Pier at Ardentinny

2019 Winner: Dima Alzayat for Once We Were Syrians
Runner-up: Bunmi Ogunsiji for Blessing
Niall Bourke for Gerardo Dreams of Chillies
Claire Fuller for Tiny and Pointed
Bruce Meyer for The Kids
2018 Winner: Chris Connolly for The Speed of Light and How It Cannot Help Us
Runner-up: Benjamin Myers for A Thousand Acres of English Soil
Kirsty Logan for My Body Cannot Forget Your Body
Valerie O'Riordan for Livestock
Gabi Reigh for It Was a Very Good Year
Jacky Taylor for A Brief Period of Rejoicing.

2017 Winner: Frances Thimann for Shells
Runner-up: Becky Tipper for The Rabbit

2016 Winner: Claire Harman for Otherwise Engaged 
Runner-up: Jessie Greengrass for Dolphin

2015 Winner: Maria C. McCarthy for More Katharine Than Audrey
Runner-up: Caroline Price for Vin Rouge

2014 Winner: Benjamin Myers for The Folk Song Singer
Runner-up: Claire Harman for Poor Magigie Kirkpatrick

2013 Winner: Samuel Wright for Best Friend
Runner-up: Lucy Wood for Wisht

2012 No award

2011 Winner: Emma Timpany for The Pledge
Runner-up: Miriam Burke for A Splash of Words

2010 Winner: Carys Davies for The Quiet
Joint runners-up: Susannah Rickards for The Paperback Macbeth and Simon van Booy for Little Birds

2009 Winner: Rosemary Mairs for My Father’s Hands
Specially commended: Huw Lawrence for Keeping On

2008 Alison MacLeod for Dirty Weekend

2007 Claire Keegan for The Parting Gift

2006 Bethan Roberts for An Elephant in the Thames

2005 Colette Paul for O Tell me the Truth About Love

2004 Claire Keegan for Men and Women

2003 Judith Ravenscroft for As She Waited for Spring

2001 Paul Blaney for Apple Tennis

1999 Grace Ingoldby for The Notion of Deuce

1996 Leo Madigan for Packing for Wednesday

1994 Janice Fox for A Good Place to Die

1992 David Callard for Reading the Signals

1990 Richard Austin for Sister Monica’s Last Journey

1988 Alan Beard for Taking Doreen Out of the Sky

1986 Lawrence Scott for The House of Funerals

1984 Janni Howker for The Egg Man

1982 Dermot Healy for The Tenant

1980 Alan McConnell for The Comrades Marathon

1978 Michael Morrissey for An Evening With Ionesco

1976 Jackson Webb for Vassili

1974 Neilson Graham for Anscombe

1972 Kathleen Julian for Catch Two

1970 Winners: A. Craig Bell for The Nest and Aileen Pennington for The Princess and the Pussy-cat

1968 No award

1966 Gillian Edwards for An Evening in September

1964 Winners: Peter Greave for The Wonderful Day and Jean Stubbs for A Child’s Four Seasons

1963 No award

1961 No award

1959 Harold Elvin for God’s Right Hand Upon My Shoulder

1957 E.W. Hildick for A Casual Visit

1955  Robert Roberts for Conducted Tour

1953 Maurice Cranston for A Visit to the Author

1951 Fred Urquhart for The Ploughing Match

1949 Olivia Manning for The Children

1947 Dorothy K. Haynes for The Head

1945 Jack Aistrop for Death In the Midst of What

1943 Elizabeth Myers for A Well Full of Leaves