2016 ALCS EWA Judges Announced

We are delighted to announce the judges for the 2016 ALCS Educational Writers’ Award, the UK’s only award for educational writing. This year the award will focus on books for 11-18 year olds, published in 2014 and 2015.

Each year the award is judged by a teacher, a school librarian and an author and this year we welcome another fantastic panel.

The 2016 judges are Jonathan Lomas, a secondary school teacher and author; Nicola Morgan, award-winning author and acclaimed expert on adolescence and Nicky Ransley, school librarian at The Henrietta Barnett School, North London.

Jonathan Lomas spent twenty four years teaching English and Drama at two leading state schools in London. For the past ten years he has been Head of English at La Retraite RC Girls’ School in Clapham Park. He is the author of audio revision guides for Smartpass on Great Expectations, Animal Farm and Othello.

Nicola Morgan is an award-winning author and international expert on adolescence, writing and speaking on topics surrounding reading, the brain, adolescent development and mental health, the effects of social media and the science of readaxation: reading for wellbeing. Her 2014 The Teenage Guide to Stress won the School Library Association award in both the readers’ and the judges’ categories.

Nicky Ransley has a degree in Theology and spent several years in contemporary arts administration, before qualifying as a librarian in 2001. Since then she has worked as a school librarian with students spanning the entire age range from 3 to 18, in both the private and maintained sectors.  She is now the librarian at The Henrietta Barnett School, in North London.


Download the full press release


More about the ALCS EWA prize

Now in its ninth year, the Educational Writers’ Award was established in 2008 by the Authors’ Licensing & Collecting Society (ALCS) and the SoA  

to celebrate educational writing that inspires creativity and encourages students to read widely and build up their understanding of a subject beyond the requirements of exam specifications.

The winner of the 2016 Educational Writers’ Award will be announced at the All Party Writers Group (APWG) Winter Reception at the House of Commons on Tuesday 6th December. The winning author will receive a cheque for £2000.