THIS IS NOT A MATHS BOOK Wins ALCS Educational Writers’ Award 2016

The award this year was given for an outstanding non-fiction title for the 11-18 age group, published in 2014 and 2015.

The £2,000 prize was presented at the All Party Parliamentary Writers Group (APWG) Winter Reception at the House of Commons on the 6 December. 

The multi-dimensional treasury of graphic activities and drawing challenges was praised by judges who commented...

"I particularly loved that this book would be likely to engage people of any level of mathematical aptitude or reluctance and yet it did so without jumping up and down and shoving a 'maths is fun' message at us. It was genuinely pleasurable and mind-opening and you can't ask more of a book!"

Nicola Morgan

"Like the best teachers, it makes you enjoy what you're studying so much that you forget you're actually learning and creating some impressive stuff at the same time. The doodles you begin with quickly transform themselves into patterns which have some pretty high flown mathematical concepts behind them. And if that's not enough for you, you can learn how to draw an impossible triangle - fantastic!​"

Jonathan Lomas

"With superb design, this is maths made genuinely exciting - a brilliant page-turner of a book."

Nicky Ransley

The judges for the 2016 award were author and teacher Nicola Morgan and illustrators Jonathan Lomas and Nick Ransley.

Weltman, Cheverton and Hissey beat an outstanding shortlist of non-fiction titles -  The Oxford Illustrated Shakespeare Dictionary, written by David & Ben Crystal and illustrated by Kate Bellamy (Oxford University Press); and The School of Art, written by Teal Triggs and illustrated by Daniel Frost (Wide Eyed Editions).

More about the award

Now in its ninth year, the Educational Writers’ Award was established in 2008 by the Authors’ Licensing & Collecting Society (ALCS) and the Society of Authors (SoA) to:

"celebrate educational writing that inspires creativity and encourages students to read widely and build up their understanding o​f a subject beyond the requirements of exam specifications."


2017 ALCS Educational Writers’ Award

The 2017 ALCS Educational Writers’ Award will be for titles published during 2016 and 2017 for the 5-11 age group. Full details and entry forms