Vondel Prize (Dutch)

The Vondel Prize is a biennial award of €5000 for translation into English of full length Dutch language works of literary merit and general interest.

Named after the most prominent Dutch poet and playwright of the 17th century, Joost van den Vondel, the prize was first awarded in 1996 and is sponsored by the Foundation for the Production and Translation of Dutch Literature.

The winner of the 2019 Vondel Prize was Michele Hutchison for a translation of Stage Four by Sander Kollaard (Amazon Crossing)

The 2021 Vondel Prize Shortlist

  • David Colmer for a translation of Will by Jeroen Olyslaegers. (Pushkin Press)
  • David Doherty for a translation of Summer Brother by Jaap Robben. (World Editions)
  • David McKay for a translation of Adrift in the Middle Kingdom by J. Slauerhoff (Handheld Press)
  • Jane Hedley-Prole for a translation of The Republic by Joost de Vries. (Other  Press)
  • Laura Watkinson for a translation of Lampie by Annet Schaap. (Pushkin Children's)

With thanks to judges: Jane Draycott, Michele Hutchison and Susan Massotty.


The winner will be announced and celebrated by the SoA on the 10th of February 2022.

If you are interested in any of the books here please visit: Blackwells and Bookshop

Important information

  • No unsolicited submissions are accepted.
  • Awards are given once every two years.
  • The next prize will run in 2021 and will be presented in 2022.
  • Entries must be translations from the Dutch into English.