Bernard Shaw Prize (Swedish)

The Bernard Shaw Prize is a triennial award of £2,000 for translations into English of full length Swedish language works of literary merit and general interest.

Named after the author and dramatist, whose Nobel Prize went towards a foundation for ‘the promotion and diffusion of knowledge and appreciation of the literature and art of Sweden in the British Islands’, the prize was  established in 1991 and is generously sponsored by the Anglo-Swedish Literary Foundation and the Embassy of Sweden in London.

The 2018 Bernard Shaw Prize, for translations published between 2015 and 2017, went to Frank Perry for his translation of Bret Easton Ellis and the Other Dogs by Lina Wolff (And Other Stories)

The 2021 Bernard Shaw Prize, for translation published between 2018 and 2020, will be presented in 2022. 


The 2021 prize is now closed and will be awarded in February 2022