The Somerset Maugham Awards

W. Somerset Maugham set up a fund in 1947 to enable young writers to enrich their work by gaining experience of foreign countries. The awards are given for a published work of fiction, non-fiction or poetry.

Entry to the 2019 prize is now closed.
The deadline for entries was 30 November 2018 at 5pm.

Important information

  • Applicants must be ordinarily resident in the UK and under the age of 35 on 31 December 2018
  • Submissions must have been published
  • The prize money must be used for foreign travel
  • The Somerset Maugham prize fund for 2019 is £16,000

Charity number 212402