Women's Prize for Fiction longlist announced

4 March 2019

This year’s Women's Prize for Fiction longlist honours both new and well-established writers and a range of genres, with seven debuts making the list. 

Now in its 24th year, the Prize celebrates excellence, originality and accessibility in writing in English from throughout the world.

The longlist of 16 novels follow in alphabetical order by author’s surname:

The Silence of the Girls by Pat Barker

Remembered by Yvonne Battle-Felton

My Sister, the Serial Killer by Oyinkan Braithwaite

The Pisces by Melissa Broder

Milkman by Anna Burns

Freshwater by Akwaeke Emezi

Ordinary People by Diana Evans

Swan Song by Kelleigh Greenberg-Jephcott

An American Marriage by Tayari Jones

Number One Chinese Restaurant by Lilian Li

Bottled Goods by Sophie van Llewyn

Lost Children Archive by Valeria Luiselli

Praise Songs for the Butterflies by Bernice L. McFadden

Circe by Madeline Miller

Ghost Wall by Sarah Moss

Normal People by Sally Rooney

The judges for the 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction are:

Professor Kate Williams (Chair), author, historian and Professor of History at the University of Reading

Arifa Akbar, journalist and critic

Dolly Alderton, columnist, broadcaster and author

Leyla Hussein, campaigner and psychotherapist

Sarah Wood, digital entrepreneur

Professor Kate Williams, Chair of Judges, said of the list:

“The discussion amongst the judges was passionate and there were some really tough choices to make. I am thrilled to share this longlist – sixteen incredible books by a diverse group of women, from the UK and countries across the world, all brilliant stories that sweep you into another world. Each of them have been a privilege to read, and they have taken us into places a million miles from each other, exploring the lives of women and men in so many different but utterly compelling ways.”

The 2019 Women’s Prize for Fiction shortlist will be announced on 29 April 2019 and the winner will be awarded on 5 June 2019 at an awards ceremony in central London. The winner will receive an anonymously endowed cheque for £30,000 and a limited-edition bronze figurine known as a ‘Bessie’, created and donated by the artist Grizel Niven.


Miragrorn (28/05/2019 09:59)
" Miranda Lambert is my favourite US singer. She is young, beautiful and charming female in her 30s. Her strong voice takes me away from all issues of this world and I can enjoy my life and listen songs created by her. Now she is on a Roadside Bars & Pink Guitars Tour started in September of 2019 featuring Tenille Townes, Caylee Hammack and others. The concerts scheduled for this year, up to the end of November. Ticket prices are moderate and available for all men and women with different income. If you are a country music lover as me, then you must visit at least one of her concert. All tour dates are available at the <a href=https://mirandalambertconcertdates.com>mirandalambertconcertdates.com</a>. Open the website and make yourself familiar with all Miranda Lambert concerts in 2019!"

 Security code