2016 Betty Trask Prize Shortlist

1 June 2016

We are delighted to announce the 2016 Betty Trask Prize shortlist. Subjects and settings are excitingly diverse, ranging from a window-cleaner to a watchmaker, a rain-soaked valley to the ancient kingdom of Benin.

To find out more, download our press release.

(Serpent’s Tail)

A passionate, rollicking and witty London novel
– Michèle Roberts

Irenoson Okojie Butterfly Fish
(Jacaranda Books Art Music)

A stunningly well-written book, which juggles different timescales with great skill Simon Brett

(Bloomsbury Circus)

Impressively competent:  steam-punk meets Zuleika Dobson
Michèle Roberts

Lucy Wood Weathering 

Deeply poetic; dreamy and thought-provoking
Joanne Harris 

The Betty Trask Prize is given annually to a debut novel of outstanding literary merit by an author under the age of 35. The winner will receive £10,000 and will be announced at the Authors’ Awards ceremony on 21 June. The three runners-up will also receive a Betty Trask Award, worth £5,000. The Prize and the Awards will be presented by John Agard, poet, children’s writer and playwright.

The judges this year are Simon Brett, Joanne Harris and Michèle Roberts.